Benny and Björn reunite to create ‘Eurovision anthem’

Eurovision’s superheroes, Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus, have been announced as the co-composers of a ‘Eurovision anthem’ for this year’s contest with the electro-house DJ Avicii.

The original song, We Write the Story, will be performed for the first time as the opening act of the final on May 18. Combining the wisdom of Benny and Björn’s years – who, with Agnetha Fältskog and Anni-Frid Lyngstad won the Contest in 1974 – with the UK’s young pop chart sensation, Sweden is proving yet again that it has the power to compete in the international music scene. Last year’s Eurovision winner, Loreen, also charted at number 3 in the UK Top 40 and spent 15 weeks in the charts.

The former ABBA bandmates described the collaboration as “a lot of fun and very inspiring” – but any excitement over a potential reunion with their now ex-wives should be quelled: the quartet have long-since denied any possibility of the magic reigniting.

A quite different harmony will prevail at the semi-finals, where a full symphony orchestra – made up of dancers each interpreting the movements of a musical instrument while narrating the history of the Contest – will perform during the interval on May 16. Accompanied, no less, by a host of BMX bikes.